June 20, 2019


Caolan Rafferty (Dundalk) at Lytham Trophy © Golffile | Thos Caffrey

The Golfing Union of Ireland have named a six-man squad to compete at The Amateur Championship, which will be held at Royal Aberdeen and Murcar Links for the first time.  This 133 year old Championship is played with mixed strokeplay and matchplay over 6 days. With 288 competitors from around the world the competition will most definitely be tough.

royal aberdeen golf club 8th green
Royal Aberdeen 8th Green

Mallow’s James Sugrue, who has climbed to fourth in the Bridgestone Order of Merit thanks to his top 10 finish at the recent Flogas Irish Amateur Open, has been included in the squad alongside Flogas champion Robin Dawson (Tramore), Alex Gleeson (Castle), Rowan Lester (Hermitage), Caolan Rafferty (Dundalk) and Jonathan Yates (Naas).

Dawson is now Ireland’s highest ranked player in the world having moved up to 40th courtesy of his victory at Royal County Down. Dundalk’s Caolan Rafferty returns to The Amateur with happy memories following his silver medal success in 2017 when he was the leading qualifier at Royal St George’s and Princes after shooting a 10-under par round of 62 in stroke play qualifying.

Seven more players from Ireland are competing at The Amateur. Robert Brazill (Naas), Colm Campbell (Warrenpoint), Tiarnan McLarnon (Massereene), Ronan Mullarney (Galway), Peter O’Keeffe (Douglas), Mark Power (Kilkenny) and Conor Purcell (Portmarnock) are also among the 288-strong field.

The top 64 and ties following two rounds of stroke play qualifying progress to the match play stages, which will be staged at Royal Aberdeen. Recent Irish winners of The Amateur include Alan Dunbar (Rathmore) in 2012, Brian McElhinney (North West) in 2005 and Michael Hoey (Shandon Park) in 2001.

–       Dawson, Gleeson, Lester, Rafferty, Sugrue and Yates selected for The Amateur Championship (18-23 June)

GolfAintEasy, wishes them all the very best of luck.


The GUI’s High Performance programme is supported by Sport Ireland and Sport NI.

GUI Squad – The Amateur Championship, Royal Aberdeen and Murcar Links (18-23 June): Robin Dawson (Tramore), Alex Gleeson (Castle), Rowan Lester (Hermitage), Caolan Rafferty (Dundalk), James Sugrue (Mallow), Jonathan Yates (Naas).